21st Century Programming Languages

When I was a co-op student, I programmed in a language that had lambdas, currying, user-defined operators (including assignment), dynamic compilation, and a wealth of other features. It was neat, efficient and readable. That languages was POP-2.

It was written in 1970.

About mischasan

I've had the privilege to work in a field where abstract thinking has concrete value. That applies at the macro level --- optimizing actions on terabyte database --- or the micro level --- fast parallel string searches in memory. You can find my documents on production-system radix sort (NOT just for academics!) and some neat little tricks for developers, on my blog https://mischasan.wordpress.com My e-mail sig (since 1976): Engineers think equations approximate reality. Physicists think reality approximates the equations. Mathematicians never make the connection.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment